Search the Site


Twelve Tribes Map

The shaded areas in this map represent the tribal allotments of land as described in the book of Joshua in the Hebrew Bible. There are 12 tribal territories, though out of the original 12 tribes, Levi did not receive land and the territory of Joseph was divided between his two sons. The cities included in the map are mentioned in the Bible as important during the premonarchic period, and many of them were used to define boundaries between tribes. During this period, Jerusalem was called Jebus and was not yet the capital of the Davidic kingdom. Produced by